Thursday, June 29, 2017


The Labour Department is the Ministry’s focal point agency responsible for implementation of the three major Labour Laws; namely:

•    The Employment Act, 2007
•    The Labour Institutions Act, 2007
•    The Labour Relations Act, 2007.

This is done through formulation and implementation of the National Labour Legislation and policy through the National Labour Board and sectoral wages councils as well as the National Tripartite Consultative Council.

The Department is also responsible for operationalizing the tripartite mechanism in handling labour issues through a tripartite dialogue process which involves consultation between workers, employers and government representatives. 

Upcoming Events

15 Jun 2017;
08:00AM - 05:00PM
World Elder Abuse Awareness Day (WEAAD) 2017
16 Jun 2017;
The Day of the African Child

Event Videos


Report Corruption

EACC New logo

Contact Us

Ministry of East African Community(EAC), Labour and Social Protection
Bishops Road, Social Security House
P.O. Box 40326 - 00100, Nairobi
Telephone: +254 (0) 2729800
Fax: +254 020 2726497
Email: or